Department of Agricultural Economics

Department News

2018 Rural Economic Outlook Conference
Producers, lenders, and policy-makers seeking to gain insight into the rural agricultural economy and make more informed decisions will be interested in attending the 2018 Rural Economic Outlook Conference on Wednesday, October 17 at the Conoco Phillips OSU Alumni Center in Stillwater. This annual one day conference features outside keynote speakers plus OSU faculty. Nathan Kauffman, Assistant Vice President and Omaha Branch Executive, Kansas City Federal Reserve Bank, is a featured keynote speaker discussing the economic outlook for the farm economy.

Dr. James MacDonald, Chief of Structure, Technology, and Productivity Branch, USDA Economic Research Service will discuss concentration and structural change in U.S. agriculture. Participants also have the opportunity to hear from OSU experts with research updates and market outlook information.

Register here for 2018 Rural Economic Outlook Conference.

David Henneberry Receives the Ohtli Award from the Mexican Government
David Henneberry, Regents Service Professor in the agricultural economics department and former Associate Vice President at the School of Global Studies and Partnerships, received the 2018 Ohtli Award in recognition of his more than 30 years of involvement with Mexico.

The Ohtli Award is the highest recognition granted by the Government of Mexico to those individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to promote the well-being, prosperity and empowerment of Mexicans and Mexican-Americans living in the United States.

Dr. Henneberry has promoted awareness of Mexican cultural and social heritage on the OSU campus; developed several programs in Mexico and the U.S., including doctoral and agricultural extension programs; and has mentored Mexican graduate students in the U.S., encouraging them to apply to OSU and helping them to find funding.

Chanjin Chung Selected as OSU Outstanding Graduate Coordinator
During the recent graduate College Awards Ceremony, Breedlove Professor and Graduate Coordinator in the Department of Agricultural Economics Chanjin Chung was honored with the OSU Outstanding Graduate Coordinator award for 2018. The award is given to recognize the exemplary service of the faculty and staff who lead and manage graduate programs.

Dr. Chung has been the graduate coordinator for the department since 2011, and has advised over 65 graduate students at OSU, either as an advisor or as a committee member, since 2002. The award nomination was initiated by Dr. Chung’s students.

Scholarship and Awards Banquet Honors Students, Donors, Faculty, and Alumni
At the Agricultural Economics Department and Aggie-X Scholarship and Awards Banquet in April, 105 students were awarded 122 scholarships totaling $131,100, including five new scholarships this year. Awards were also presented to departmental students, faculty members, and donors.

Four Ag Econ Students Recognized as Outstanding Seniors
Four agricultural economics students are among the 14 seniors recognized as 2017/2018 Outstanding Seniors by the OSU Alumni Association. The Outstanding Senior award recognizes seniors who excel through academic achievement; campus and community activities; athletic or extra-curricular honors or awards; scholarships and work ethic during their time at OSU.

The students are Megan DeVuyst, Hammons Hepner, Angel Molina, and Gatlin Squires. [read more]

Ag Econ Student Recognized as a Women for OSU Scholarship Recipient
Emma Woolard, agribusiness freshman from Lubbock, Texas, has been recognized by Women for OSU as a scholarship recipient for 2018. The Women for OSU Endowed Scholarship is a prestigious award that recognizes academics and philanthropic and volunteer activities among OSU’s students with the goal of helping students become stronger leaders and educated philanthropists. Emma volunteers primarily at Our Daily Bread food pantry in Stillwater. [read more]

Ag Econ Alum Frank Lucas Inducted into OSU Hall of Fame
Congressman Frank Lucas, a 1982 graduate of the Department of Agricultural Economics, was inducted into the OSU Hall of Fame in early February, the highest honor given by OSU. Lucas has been a member of the United States House of Representatives since 1994. He previously served for more than five years in the Oklahoma House of Representatives.

As a wheat farmer and because the district he represents is largely agricultural, Lucas has focused on helping American farmers and ranchers throughout his tenure in Congress. He has served on the House Agricultural Committee, and he oversaw the passage of the Agricultural Act of 2014. [view more]

Wade Brorsen Receives SAEA Lifetime Achievement Award
Wade Brorsen, Regents Professor and A.J. and Susan Jacques Chair, received the Southern Agricultural Economics Association (SAEA) Lifetime Achievement Award at their annual meeting held recently in Jacksonville Florida.

Brorsen is also advisor to Eunchun Park, who won the SAEA Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation award for “Three Essays on Insurance and Options in Agricultural Economics.”

Amanda Higgins, agricultural economics junior from Yukon, was a member of the third place Quiz Bowl team

Recently Added Publications

Filed under:


Departmental Newsletter

2018 Spring Newsletter

Contact Information

308 Agricultural Hall
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
Phone: 405.744.6161
Fax: 405.744.8210